You are here

12 Surprising Vegan Foods

"Accidentally Vegan" Products

1 of 13

All photos

While things like meat, eggs, and cheese are easy to avoid, adhering to a vegan diet is far more nuanced than it can seem—especially when processed foods with long ingredients lists and difficult-to-pronounce names can disguise animal products. For example, white sugar can be filtered with bone char, charred animal bones that can make sugar appear whiter (although this process is reportedly used less and less in food these days). And certain candies, which may seem vegan-friendly, include the ingredient confectioner's glaze, made from bug secretions.

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) includes a number of products with refined sugar, natural flavors, or other ingredients that in some instances can come from animals on its list of "Accidentally Vegan" products. The organization explains the position as follows: "While PETA supports a strict adherence to veganism, we put the task of vigorously reducing animal suffering ahead of personal purity. Boycotting products that are 99.9 percent vegan sends the message to manufacturers that there is no market for this food, which ends up hurting more animals."

Vegan individuals will have to choose for themselves whether compounds like these fit into their personal animal-free diet or not, not to mention whether processed foods fit into a nutritious diet to begin with. Still, some of the PETA-approved picks are items you'd never expect to be vegan. Read on to see some of the most surprising.

Photo: Getty Images

Oreos

2 of 13

All photos

Despite the creamy center, there are no milk products in "milk's favorite cookie."

Photo: Thinkstock

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

3 of 13

All photos

Despite that buttery taste, it's a number of vegetable oils that give these flaky baked goods their flavor.

Photo: Flickr: Stevendepolo

Betty Crocker's Bac-O's Bacon Flavor Bits

4 of 13

All photos

Not to be confused with real bacon bits, these flavorful tidbits aren't actually made from meat.

Photo: Flickr: Fuzzy Gerdes

Ritz Crackers

5 of 13

All photos

This cracker prides itself on buttery flavor, but contains no dairy or animal products.

Photo: Getty Images

Kraft Italian Dressing

6 of 13

All photos

The creamy texture of this salad topper doesn't actually come from any dairy products.

Photo: Getty Images

Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili

7 of 13

All photos

The classic flavors Cool Ranch and Nacho Cheese are made with milk, cheese and whey, but the lesser-known Spicy Sweet Chili flavor is dairy-free. Still, that doesn't mean they're healthy—we counted 22 ingredients on the label, including MSG, which may trigger headaches and other unpleasant symptoms by some accounts.

Photo: Amazon.com

Unfrosted Pop Tarts

8 of 13

All photos

The frosted flavors contain whey and/or gelatin, but some of the unfrosted varieties, like strawberry, are vegan.

Photo: Amazon.com

Krispy Kreme Glazed Apple Pie

9 of 13

All photos

The brand's doughnuts are typically made with eggs and dairy products, but the store-bought apple-flavored fruit pies are free of animal products.

Photo: Amazon.com

Sara Lee Oven Fresh Apple Pie

10 of 13

All photos

That flaky crust is actually egg and butter-free.

Photo: Getty Images

Fritos

11 of 13

All photos

The original flavor chip boasts a surprisingly-short ingredients list with just whole corn, corn oil and salt.

Photo: Getty Images

Brach's Mandarin Orange Slices

12 of 13

All photos

Many if not most gummy candies contain gelatin, which is made from collagen from the skin and bones of animals. These citrus bites are an exception.

SuperPretzel Baked Soft Pretzels

13 of 13

All photos

You'd expect to find eggs or dairy in these baked snacks, but though they're carb-heavy, they're actually vegan.

More on Huffington Post Healthy Living:
9 Foods You Thought were Vegetarian
17 Ways to Break Out of a Workout Rut
How You Could Be Gaining Weight While You Sleep