Gluten-Free Candy to Have on Halloween

Alt Text

Title Text

Gluten-Free Candy to Have on Halloween
If the candy-lined store shelves didn't give it away, the sweetest annual holiday is just about here — no, not Valentine's Day silly . . . Halloween! For those with celiac disease or a gluten allergy/sensitivity, Halloween can be more of a trick than a treat because deciphering which candies contain traces of the gluten protein found in wheat, rye, and barley can be downright tricky.

Good news my friends. Although most cupcakes, cookies, brownies, and doughnuts are filled with gluten, most candy bars and hard candies are gluten-free (but stay away from Twizzlers, because they surprisingly do contain gluten!). Now I'm not saying you can go crazy next Monday, but when a majority of "fun size" bars are only 100 calories, a little indulging once in a while doesn't hurt.

First things first. Always read the label on your candy before consuming. Unless labeled "gluten-free," candy may contain traces of gluten, be produced in a facility that also processes products with wheat, or be made on equipment that is shared with products that are not gluten-free. Also note that a product labeled as gluten-free in one country may not be gluten-free where you live. For instance, Smarties in the US are g-free, whereas Smarties in Canada are not. Another reason to read the label? Companies are constantly changing the ingredients they put in products, so it never hurts to double check. When in doubt, you can always call the 1-800 number located on the packaging to speak with a customer service representative to find out for sure if it's free of gluten. Here's a list of popular candy that is indeed gluten-free. Woohoo!

Chocolate Bars

  • Baby Ruth
  • Butterfinger, original flavor only, excluding Butterfinger Crisp
  • Hershey Milk Chocolate Bars, Regular and with Almonds
  • Skor Bars by Hershey
  • Snickers
  • 3 Musketeers
Candy
  • Bazooka Bubble Gum
  • Big Red Gum
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Bubble Yum Gum
  • Dentyne Gum
  • Doublemint Gum
  • Dubble Bubble Gum
  • Eclipse Gum
  • Extra Gum
  • Freedent Gum
  • Freshen Up Gum
  • Fruit Stripe Gum
  • Fruit Tart Chews by Wonka
  • Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour by Wonka
  • Glee Gum
  • Gobstoppers (Chewy and Original) by Wonka
  • Gold Mine Gold Rocks Nugget Bubble Gum
  • Goobers
  • Hershey's Kisses, Hugs and Kissables
  • Hot Tamales
  • Hot Tamales Gum
  • Hubba Bubba Gum
  • Jawbreakers
  • Jelly Bellies
  • Jolly Rancher Lollipops
  • Jolly Ranchers
  • Juicy Fruit Gum
  • Junior Mints
  • Just Born Jelly Beans
  • Laffy Taffy Plain, Stretchy & Tangy and Rope by Wonka
  • Lifesavers
  • Lollibeans Jelly Belly Lollipops
  • M&Ms, Plain and Peanut
  • Marshmallow Peeps
  • Mentos Sugar Free Gum
  • Mike and Ike Bubble Gum
  • Mike and Ike's
  • Milk Duds
  • Nerds
  • Orbit Sugar Free Gum
  • Peeps
  • Pez
  • Pixy Stix by Wonka
  • Pop Rocks Candy
  • Push Pops
  • Raisinets (including Cherry, Cranberry, and Dark Chocolate flavors)
  • Razzles
  • Red Hots
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cups
  • Reese's Pieces
  • Ring Pops
  • Rolo
  • Skittles
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids by Cadbury
  • Starburst
  • Sugar Daddy Lollipops
  • Sunkist Chewy Candies
  • Super Bubble Original Gum
  • Surf Sweets Gummy Candies
  • Surf Sweets Jelly Beans
  • Swedish Fish by Cadbury and Trebor Allen
  • Sweetarts by Wonka
  • Tic Tacs
  • Tootsie Pop Lollipops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Trident Gum
  • Wrigley's Gum Products

More from FitSugar:
Is It Really Gluten-Free? Reading Labels 101
The Best Gluten-Free Granola Options
Nationwide Restaurants With Gluten-Free Menus

Comments
comments powered by Disqus