Following a gluten-free diet doesn't have to mean swearing off sweets. Check out this list of candy without gluten.

colorful gummy candies at a market in Barcelona, Spain
Credit: Francisco Goncalves

A superior gluten-free dessert isn't the easiest to come by, at least when it comes to baked goods. There's a learning curve to using gluten-free flours, so the desserts aren't too dense or chalky. When you just need a failsafe way to satisfy your sweet tooth on a gluten-free diet, candy is a better way to go. A gluten-free candy isn't noticeably different from a candy that has gluten in it. And unlike cakes they don't require a trip to a diet-inclusive bakeshop–plenty of old-school classics are gluten-free. Ready to raid the candy aisle? Here's how to narrow down your options. (Related: Candy Corn Is America's Least Favorite Halloween Candy)

How to Find Out What Candy Is Gluten-Free

How you should approach finding out if a candy is gluten-free depends on the severity of your sensitivity or intolerance. If you're not dealing with a high-stakes health condition, you'll probably be okay to simply check out the candy's ingredient list. That might mean passing up on a community candy bowl–some varieties of candy corn, candy canes, etc. are gluten-free, while others aren't. But as long as you can find an ingredient list and don't see grain or grain-derived ingredients, you're good to go. (Not sure what to avoid? Here's a handy list of sources of gluten from the Celiac Disease Foundation.)

On the other hand, if you have a condition like celiac disease, you'll want to do a little more digging. Companies don't always produce their gluten-free candies in dedicated gluten-free facilities, plus they're often switching up ingredients or varying their recipes by country. With so many variables, it's best to be extra sure that a candy is gluten-free if you have a severe allergy. You may find that a candy is specifically labeled as gluten-free as an added layer of assurance over just an absence of gluten in its ingredient list. When in doubt, you can also call the company's customer service to double-check. (Related: The Best (and Worst) Healthy Candy Options, According to Dietitians)

Candy Without Gluten

If you're ready to stock up on gluten-free candy, we can help get you started. These candies are all gluten-free according to their respective manufacturers. As a reminder, the best way to gauge potential cross-contamination during the manufacturing process is to contact a company directly. (Related: The Best Gluten-Free Snacks Under $5)

  • Almond Joy (except Almond Joy Pieces)
  • Andes Mints
  • Brach's Naturally Flavored Candy Corn
  • Charleston Chews
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Cry Baby Extra Sour Tears
  • DOTS Gumdrops
  • Dubble Bubble Twist Gum
  • Dum Dums
  • Goldenberg's Peanut Chews
  • Heath Bars
  • Hershey's Kisses (milk chocolate, candy cane, kiss deluxe, special dark mildly sweet, espresso, creamy milk chocolate, creamy milk chocolate with almonds, and caramel-, mint-truffle-, and cherry cordial crème-filled)
  • Hershey's Milk chocolate covered almonds
  • Hershey's chocolate and chocolate with almonds
  • Hot Tamales (Cinnamon, Fierce Cinnamon, and Tropical Heat)
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
  • Junior Mints
  • Justin's Peanut Butter Cups and Minis
  • Lindt LINDOR Truffles (White Chocolate, Stracciatella, Cappuccino, and Citrus)
  • Mike and Ikes (Original Fruit and Tropical Typhoon)
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds bars
  • NECCO wafers
  • PayDay
  • Perfect Snacks Peanut Butter Cups
  • Razzles
  • Reese's Peanut Butter cups (except seasonal shaped)
  • Reese's Pieces (except Reese's Pieces Eggs)
  • Rolos (except minis)
  • Skor toffee bars
  • Smarties
  • Sugar Babies
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • York Peppermint Patties (except York pieces, sugar-free, York minis, and York shapes)